When you activate your service with us you provide your email address.
Your email address is temporarily used by our servers only for the following:
Your email address is converted to an anonymized value that is stored on our servers so that we may provide the service without retaining your email address.
Other users of the Application that have your email address in their device's address book use it to share their trips with you. We do not and cannot provide users with your email address because we do not have it.
If you enable push notifications, we store the token your device provides us so that we may send you notifications for only the following reasons:
We never use push notifications for marketing.
We also collect some basic information automatically. For example, we may log your IP address, operating system version, Application version, and general information about your browser or device.
We use the information we collect to operate and improve the Application, our website, and customer support. For example, this may include crash reporting and basic analytics.
We may share anonymous, aggregate statistics with third parties, such as the Application's number of users.
We may disclose collected information:
The Application works best when you grant permission to access your device's address book. Information from your address book is never stored on or analyzed by our servers, other than temporarily during activation or deactivation of your service when your email address is used to send you a confirmation code. Instead, information such as a user's email address is converted to an anonymized value that is used to interact with our servers. Address book information is used locally on your device to choose users to share your trip with and display information of users who have shared their trips with you.
When you use the Application to share your location with another user, your geolocation coordinates are encrypted locally on your device and sent to their device where the Application decrypts them locally. Our servers do not know your geolocation coordinates and do not have the cryptographic keys to decrypt them.
Please note that your device manufacturer and/or your mobile telecommunications carrier may know your gelocation. You should consult their policies to make this determination.
We implement a variety of security measures to help keep your information secure.
For example, all network communication between the Application and our servers is over HTTPS or TLS, and the Application is designed such that our servers store little information of value (for example, no email addresses or passwords are stored).
Please be aware that, although we endeavor to provide reasonable security for information we process and maintain, no security system can prevent all potential security breaches.
You can stop collection of information by deactivating your service within the Application. Deactivating your service will also delete your account information with the exception of the information required to restore your voluntary patronage subscription should you reactivate your account. Uninstalling the Application alone will not delete your account information. You can also delete all account information by contacting us at email@example.com, and we will respond in a reasonable amount of time.
We never collect or maintain information on our servers or website from those we actually know are under 13, and no part of the Application or our website is structured to attract anyone under 13.
This policy was last modified on September 20, 2016.
© 2016 Zip Software Design, LLC
Apple, the Apple logo, iPhone, iPad, and Apple Watch are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. App Store is a service mark of Apple Inc.